Fox, Karin Anneliese#C96766-1

Assistant Professor, Maternal-Fetal Medicine Baylor College of Medicine


“You must keep sending work out; you must never let a manuscript do nothing but eat its head off in a drawer.  You send that work out again and again, while you’re working on another one.  If you have talent, you’ll receive some measure of success – but only if you persist. ”

– Isaac Asimov


 

This is a blog started for the “New Tools for Creating Online Educational Materials” course which I am taking toward a Master’s in Education degree through the University of Houston.   I have an interest in non-traditional education techniques, especially developing tools that are contemporary, forward-thinking, and sufficiently flexible to use in small and large groups alike–hence the appeal of online educational materials.

I am notorious for dreaming up more than I can ever do, especially with as many roles I have from day to day, which is why the quote above really resonates.  The “dreaming up” is easy, the persistance, not so much, but I keep learning every day and have had some fabulous mentors, whose ability to execute plans, make things happen and get things published I hope to harness.   The tools and skills I have acquired through the Master’s program, however, have proven extraordinarily helpful in grounding my ideas, and providing a “map” for success.  I look forward to building upon what I’ve learned so far, and hope to build a lasting platform for our fellows, residents, and students.

 

Stand up paddle boarding-for a little bit of balance (literally and figuratively)

I love obstacle course events, especially when I can include my kids

I love obstacle course events, especially when I can include my kids

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

